The Ten Commandments - It Is Well Living Church

Feb 16, 2020
Exposition of the Blessed Sacrament


Welcome to the It Is Well Living Church, a community and society centered around faith and beliefs. In this article, we will explore the significance of the Ten Commandments and how they play an integral role in shaping our lives.

Understanding the Ten Commandments

The Ten Commandments hold great spiritual and moral significance for followers of the Christian faith. This set of biblical principles, also known as the Decalogue, was handed down to Moses by God himself on Mount Sinai. They serve as a moral compass, guiding believers towards a life of righteousness, accountability, and love.

The First Commandment: Worship Only One God

The first commandment emphasizes the importance of devotion to one true God. It promotes monotheism and discourages the worship of false idols or gods. By adhering to this commandment, believers prioritize their relationship with God above all else.

The Second Commandment: Avoid Idolatry

The second commandment extends the teachings of the first by warning against the creation or worship of idols. It encourages believers to focus on a spiritual connection with God rather than materialistic representations.

The Third Commandment: Respect God's Name

In the third commandment, believers are called to honor and respect the name of God. It reminds us to use the name of the Lord with reverence and avoid any acts of blasphemy or disrespect.

The Fourth Commandment: Keep the Sabbath Holy

The fourth commandment encourages believers to set aside a dedicated day for rest and worship. It emphasizes the significance of observing the Sabbath as a time to rejuvenate the spirit and deepen one's connection with God.

The Fifth Commandment: Honor Your Parents

Respecting and honoring parents is the central theme of the fifth commandment. It highlights the importance of family values, obedience, and gratitude towards those who have nurtured and guided us in life.

The Sixth Commandment: Do Not Murder

The sanctity of life is upheld in the sixth commandment, which forbids the act of murder. This commandment promotes peace, compassion, and the preservation of human life.

The Seventh Commandment: Do Not Commit Adultery

The seventh commandment emphasizes the value of faithfulness within marriage and condemns adultery. It reinforces the principles of commitment, trust, and loyalty between spouses.

The Eighth Commandment: Do Not Steal

The eighth commandment prohibits stealing, reminding believers to respect the property of others and promote a just society. It promotes the virtues of honesty, integrity, and compassion.

The Ninth Commandment: Do Not Bear False Witness

With the ninth commandment, believers are called to speak truthfully and refrain from spreading false information or bearing false witness against others. It promotes integrity, trust, and justice.

The Tenth Commandment: Do Not Covet

The final commandment urges believers to refrain from coveting the possessions, relationships, or achievements of others. It encourages contentment, gratitude, and the appreciation of one's own blessings.

Application of the Ten Commandments

The teachings of the It Is Well Living Church emphasize the application of the Ten Commandments in daily life. By integrating these principles into our thoughts, words, and actions, we can foster a harmonious and meaningful existence.

In Personal Relationships

Applying the commandments in personal relationships strengthens bonds, promotes forgiveness, and encourages respect. By honoring our parents, celebrating faithful marriages, and cultivating trust, we build a foundation of love and unity.

In the Community

The Ten Commandments serve as a guide for building a just and compassionate community. By valuing honesty, refraining from stealing, and speaking truthfully, we contribute to the well-being and collective prosperity of society.

In Spiritual Growth

By observing the Sabbath, worshiping one God, and avoiding idolatry, believers deepen their spiritual connection and nurture their faith. The commandments provide essential guidance for personal and spiritual growth within the It Is Well Living Church.


The Ten Commandments hold immense significance in the faith and beliefs of It Is Well Living Church. Through their teachings, believers are encouraged to lead lives of righteousness, morality, and love. By applying these commandments in our interactions, our relationships, and our communities, we can create a harmonious world filled with compassion and understanding.

Jessica Voorst
🙏 Essential guidelines for believers!
Oct 12, 2023